Homemade Copycat Oreos and SnickerDoodles!

I love Oreos. They were my favorite snack when I was a kid. Mom used to keep them in this Tupperware (actual Tupperware) container, and about halfway thru the bag they’d start to get a little stale… because that was before they made the bags that seal themselves. But honestly… I still eat my Oreo’s a little stale.
These… are not stale. And they’re not quite Oreos. My cookie is a little sweeter and not as crunchy and the cream isn’t as sturdy. It kinda squishes out when you bite into the cookie. I think that because the cookies aren’t crispy it makes the cream seem less sturdy. Does that make sense?
The cookie is adapted from a chocolate roll out recipe on AllRecipes (and the same recipe I used to make the cookies last week). I used a small biscuit cutter to cut ut my cookies, so they’re slightly bigger than regular Oreos.
The Oreo Cream recipe is from FoodNetwork.com. Would you believe me if I told you that I’ve NEVER used shortening before? It always kind of grossed me out. I’m not really sure why… I think ‘cause it’s like a giant tub of fat/ grease. Kind of like the drippings from bacon. :::Shudder::: I got over it ‘cause I couldn’t find an Oreo Recipe that DIDN’T use it. I assumed it was important.
Hubs told me this homemade version is better than regular Oreos. I like them the same. Click HERE to see my RECIPE!
 

I also made these Snicker Doodles (w/ Snickers!) from Picky Palate.
I changed 2 things:
1) I used 12 fun sized Snickers
2) I keep a cinnamon & sugar mix in the pantry (it’s probably ¼ cinnamon & ¾ sugar). I used a tablespoon to scoop the cookies, rolled them into balls, then tossed them in the mixture.
They are aaaaaaah-maaaaaaaazing.
 
You should go bake one (or both) of these recipes. Right. Now.
Happy Baking.
-Hey Waitress!!
 
Leave a Reply

