Slow Cooker Apple Butter Rolls- N2MCC17

I made these Slow Cooker Apple Butter Rolls for week 17 of my New 2 Me Cooking Challenge for 2014. The original recipe comes from A Spicy Perspective.

I didn’t change any of the ingredients. I thought the original recipe’s directions where kinda confusing, so I (IMO) simplified them. I also made 12 instead of 24… because, let’s face it, I have a carb/bread fetish. I’m not ashamed.

For yeast dough recipes that call for “warm” water I like it between 110-120 degrees F. I learned that nifty little fact from the Better Homes & Gardens Cookbook.

The original recipe called for kneading the dough for 5-8 minutes. I only needed (kneaded, hahaha) 3. I’m not sure why…

The only thing I’ll do differently next time is check the rolls after 45 minutes. I left the first batch in for the full amount of time, and the bottoms browned WAAAAY too much. They didn’t burn or anything… but they were a little dry. The second batch, I left in for 1 hour, and they looked much better. I’ll check ‘em after 45 minutes just to make sure.

I really love the idea of “baking” rolls in the slow cooker. No reason to heat up the oven! I also think these would work great if you’re cooking a big meal and there’s no room left in the oven…

I’ve never used apple butter before, but I really like the flavor it gives these. I kinda feel like it’s more of a Fall or cool weather thing though. Know what I mean!? I don’t know if this sense, but they I think they’ve got a warm flavor.

I wish I had made some cinnamon butter to go with these, but we ate them with leftover Easter Ham instead.

No matter what we ate with them, I think these Slow Cooker Apple Butter Rolls are going to be in our regular rotation. They got thumbs up from both of us.

Happy “Baking”!

-Holly

Click here for the Slow Cooker Apple Butter Rolls recipe!

Leave a comment