Single Serve/ Mugs in the Microwave Week!

I mentioned yesterday that TheMr. was gone all last week on business? He left Saturday night after dinner and didn’t get back til the following Saturday! That’s a lot of time alone for me. Honestly, it wasn’t too bad except for the storms EVERY night. Every. Night.

I usually bake something every week (haven’t you noticed), but I didn’t want to make anything that would feed too many people. A- because I didn’t have anyone to share w/, and B- I didn’t want to eat all of it by myself like a fatty pants…

That’s when it hit me! “Single Serve/ Mugs in The Microwave”! I’ve had a bunch of those easy microwaveable cakes and cookies saved on my browser favorites, and what better time to give them all a try then when I’m home all alone for a week!?

The only problem I really had making all these was the amount of eggs parts I had to use. It felt kind of wasteful. Anyone else hate separating eggs!? Lucky for me I have one of those handy egg separator gadgets… everyone should have one of these.

Oops I lied! 2 problems! The other issue I had was picking what size mug I wanted to use. Most everything fit in ramekins, except for the Nutella Mug Cake, that went into a plain white mug from Target (I think it’s 11 oz).

Also… I wish these recipes looked prettier. I feel like they all came out rather unattractive.

I’m just linking to the recipes I liked and will make again. There are a few that didn’t come out like I hoped, but nothing’s perfect. 😉

 

 

Sunday- Giant Reese’s PB Cookie

Ok, so this isn’t exactly “single serve” and I didn’t make it in the microwave… but I’m a rebel. I do what I want. I ended eating half of it Sunday and the other half with lunch on Monday! The only thing I change was subbing a bag of Peanut Butter M&Ms for the Reese’s Pieces.

 

 

Monday- Deep Dish Chocolate Chip Cookie

I didn’t change a thing! But I did use mini chocolate chips, not regular. This was my FAVORITE recipe all week. I even made it again Sunday Night when TheMr. came home.

 

 

Tuesday- Double Chocolate Peanut Butter Mug Cookie

My only advice is press the PB all the way down. I made this 2x, and the first time I left the PB mostly on top and it melted and spread out… I also had to nuke it for 50 seconds instead of the recommended 30. The second time (Sunday, when TheMr. came home), after I pressed it down more, looked prettier.

 

 

Wednesday- Microwave French Toast

I used 2 Kaiser Rolls instead of sliced bread and just cut them into chunks. Then I sprinkled the top with a cinnamon & sugar combo I keep in the pantry. And I used the same white mug from Target. I liked this recipe, but it really doesn’t compare to regular French Toast, or even Baked French Toast. It’ll be great for a quick craving, but it’s a little rubbery.

 

 

Thursday- Microwave Mac N Cheese & Giant Snickerdoodle Cookie

Neither of these recipes came out like I wanted…

 

 

Friday- Microwave Brownie

The only change I made was using mini chocolate chips.

 

 

Saturday- Nutella Mug Cake

I’m flip flopping if I should include this link. I was putting this together when I noticed the version I wrote down (at the beginning of the week) didn’t have any sugar. I was too impatient to wait for my computer to boot up, so I added 2 tablespoons. Figured what the heck. Turns out, according to the actual recipe it requires 4 tablespoons. My mistake came out OK. But it wasn’t great. I’m going to try it again with the correct amount of sugar. You definitely want to put this in a mug, it rose A LOT. It was also a little too rich for my taste.

 

Happy “Baking”!

-Holly!

Leave a comment