My Fav Reading

 
FIRST! A disclaimer. I read mostly fantasy adventure. You know, the kind with swords, dragons, magic, mysticism… not a big fan of the “urban fantasy” vampire & wolf stuff.  I also REALLY like Dystopian Fiction.
SECOND! Another disclaimer. I own a Kindle. It was the BEST christmas gift EVER. I love it. I also miss turning pages and the way books smell. That being said, as part of my criteria for “Favorite Reading” I must feel the need to buy a hard copy. Let’s have a little aside here and talk about the Kindle… Did I mention I love it? ‘Cause I do. A lot of the stories/ books I’ve read on it are cheap ($2.99- $3.99), or even free! The other thing I really love about the Kindle (it probably holds true for all E-Readers) is the exposure to self published or “unknown” writers.
THIRD! Another disclaimer. There will only b a few descriptions, and they’ll probably be “borrowed” from the cover descriptions. because I type slooooow, and I’d rather be reading then poking away at a keyboard!
FOURTH! If I gave you ALL of my favorite books this post would be waaaaaay too long. So my other criteria for putting this list together was I had to read (or re-read)  from 2011-present.
So, without further a-do… My Favorite Reading
  • Anthem– Ayn Rand
  • Night Angel Trilogy– Brent Weeks
  • Bloodsucking Fiends, You  Suck, Bite Me!- Christopher Moore. (He’s funny… and that’s 3 different books.
  • The Dresden Files– Jim Butcher. This series is the story of Harry Blackstone Copperfield Dresden, Chicago’s first (and only)Wizard P.I.
  • A Song of Ice and Fire (series)- George R.R. Martin. The first book in this series is A Game of Thrones, which was recently turned into a HBO series.
  • The Shadow Dance Trilogy– David Dalglish. “Thren Felhorn is the greatest assassin of his time. Marshalling the thieves’ guilds under his control, he declares war against the Trifect, an allegiance of wealthy and powerful nobles. His son, Aaron, has been groomed since birth to be his heir. Sent to kill the daughter of a priest, Aaron instead risks his own life to protect her from the wrath of his guild. In doing so, he glimpses a world beyond poison, daggers, and the iron control of his father.”
  • Desperate Times, Desperate Times 2: Gun Control– Nicholas Antinozzi. Story about surviving after a Socio-Economic collapse in the US.
  • A Dirty Job– Christopher Moore
  • A Dog’s Purpose– W. Bruce Cameron. “Tells the story of a dog who finds himself reincarnated and decides there must be a reason, a purpose he must fulfill, and until he does so, he’ll continue to be reborn.”
  • The Donzerly Light– Ryne Douglas Pearson. “…So begins Jay’s reluctant journey to a past he’s tried to forget. From his days ruling Wall Street as an impossibly intuitive stock picker, to just a few hours  before, when he pumped six bullets into a transient outside a dying Missouri town. A drifter he’d once thought was just an ordinary man.”
  • The Half-Orcs– David Dalglish. series.
  • The Tormay Trilogy– Christopher Bunn. A Hawk and His Boy is the first book. 
  • The Help– Kathryn Stockett. Yes, every once and a while I enjoy mushy, loveable, “real life” books.
  • The Mistborn Trilogy– Brandon Sanderson.
  • The Hunger Games Trilogy– Suzanne Collins. Hands down my favorite books of 2011.If you haven’t read it yet, you should.
  • Inheritance– Christopher Paolini. The first book in this series (the Inheritance Cycle) was Eragon.
  • The Lost Dogs: Michael Vick’s Dogs and Their Tale of Rescue and Redemption– Jim Gorant
  • The Kingkiller Chronical– Patrick Rothfuss. The first book in this series is The Name of the Wind. The series is the life story of a famous musician, mage, and adventurer named Kvothe. After gaining notoriety at a young age, he disappears from public life…
  • The Kinshield Saga– K.C. Mays. Series in progress…
  • One Good Dog– Susan Wilson. Yes. I like stories about how awesome dogs are. sue me.
  • The Penal Colony– Richard Herley.  Read the description here.
  • Ready Player One– Ernest Cline.
  • The Sisters Brothers– Patrick Dewitt
  • The Stormlight Archive– Brandon Sanderson. Starts with The Way of Kings.
and finally… I’m reading Terry Goodkind’s The Sword of Truth series. And LOVE it.
hope you enjoy these books as much as I did.
-Hey Waitress!
Leave a Reply

