Zombie Fallout 5 & The Omen Machine

Zombie Fallout 5- Mark Tufo… 3/5 stars
First the bad. I really wanted to love this story. I really, really, really wanted to. But I couldn’t. Not only was it shorter than the others, but it was severely lacking in action. It felt like a filler, or maybe just the first half of a good story. Kind of like Mr. Tufo just wanted to get something published while he’s hot. Another problem I had was when he gave a shout out to himself, by mentioning Indian Hill (on a night stand, in an abandoned house). It bothers me. I’m not sure why, but it does. I’m also super creeped out by Paul’s death… CATS!? Icky.  As for Mike- I don’t believe Mr. Tufo would just kill him off… the story is still unfinished. The editing is a bit rough, and I still don’t like the “journal” aspect. Finally, I wish Mr. Tufo would have written The Blood Stone stories as one book, instead of in pieces attached to the others.
Now the Good…  I really liked how Deneaux is turning out. She went from a crotchety old bat… to a calculating, murdering, old bat. It’s awesome. As always, Mike’s sarcasm and speak-before-he-thinks outbursts lighten up a dark story. He reminds me of Home (Massachusetts). I also like how he’s starting to explore his “talents”. I like Tomas/ Tommy, and how we’re still not sure what he’s going to do in the end. The reason I did give this book a 3 is the people. I love them, even the secondary ones.
 
 The Omen Machine (Sword of Truth #12)- Terry Goodkind… 1/5 stars
Please forgive the disjointed, and sloppy review. I’m trying to get it all down before I forget exactly what I want to say.
This is another book I really wanted to love. I knew it wasn’t going to happen though, and I wasn’t surprised. The series has gone down hill since Blood of the Fold (book #4). Unfortunately, once I start a series, I have to read it all the way through. It’s been a tough ride.
To make this easy on myself, and to keep it short so I don’t go off on a rant… I’m going to list the things I DON’T like:
  • Excessive use of deus ex machina.
  • The rapid turn to prophecy… it’s only been ONE day for Pete’s sake. Why did everyone suddenly start believing in Prophecy overnight?
  • The self-aware Omen Machine wrecking havoc, and being able to “throw” it’s thoughts into people’s heads. Like the boy from the market..
  • The Tale of Two (or 3) Bad “Guys”. The Hedgemaid & the Bishop. and the Abbot at the palace. The Bishop used the Hedgemaid, who ended up being super easy to get rid of. She’s a good character. Arc would be a good super villain (he’s very underdeveloped), but it seems like Terry Goodkind is setting up the Abbot to be the bad guy in another book.
  • I don’t understand how everyone seemed to turn into idiots. Richard’s kind of a condescending ass, and everyone else is whiney. I don’t understand why Kahlan was so weak… She was always a strong female lead, but this was a wicked bad case of Damsel In Distress Syndrome.
  • Long descriptions (of earlier places) and repetitive dialog.
  • It feels incomplete. The ending was abrupt. Too abrupt.
 
 
I’d like to end with a quote (or 2) from these authors, but not these books.
“‘It’s my New England sarcasm coming out in full force.’ Folks that don’t come from that region have a difficult time truly understanding what is being said to them. Many will find it an abrasive form of communication. It is, without a doubt, an acquired mode of information dissemination.” -from Zombie Fallout, Mark Tufo
“Wizards Fifth Rule: Mind what people do, not only what they say, for deeds will betray a lie.” -from Soul of the Fire (SoT 5), Terry Goodkind
 
So. Thats thats.
-Hey Waitress!
 
 
