SoCo Red Velvet Cupcakes

Southern Comfort and I go back to college. We’ve always had a great relationship. Especially when Coke (the soda) and a lime got involved. Sometimes I didn’t even need the Coke…  I also love the very Southern pairing of Red Velvet and SoCo. So, naturally when I saw this recipe in the Boozy Baker I had to give it a try.  I suggest you do the same!

(for once) I didn’t change anything in the batter recipe! I’m super impressed with the thickness and the color of the batter, unlike the Red Hot Velvet cupcakes from VD. The picture doesn’t do it justice. Sadly my kitchen looks like I murdered someone, because (somehow) I managed to get food coloring ALL OVER my counters. That’s talent. I know, I know… You’re probably laughing at me right now thinking “Duh, everyone knows that red food coloring stains”. And just incase you needed another reason to laugh… I realized I only have one mixing bowl. And I needed 3. So, yes, my liquids were whisked in a pot. Don’t judge me. I’m too cheap to buy more bowls. The original cooking time was for 2 9-inch round cake pans (baked for 30-40 minutes). It also claimed 24 cupcakes, but as usual I got more (27 this time). After baking for 20 minutes there was a bit of edge overflow… and I’d suggest trimming it if you want them to look “pretty”. I’m not sure if edge overflow is an right phrase. It may be better just to ignore the last sentence.

The original frosting recipe used a minimum of 6 cups powdered sugar, adding (up to 2 more cups) a little at a time, until frosting reached the desired consistency. I was ok with just 6 cups.

Get ‘cha grub on!
-Hey Waitress!!

Click here for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

