Kahlua Caramel KitKat Cupcakes

After spending a whole afternoon (last week) browsing new (to me) cupcake recipes, and adding a bunch of them to my favorites, I realized something… Not only am I obsessed with adding alcohol to my baked goods, but I also like any cupcake that’s got the word “candy” or “cookie” attached. As a secret fat kid, I decided to combine two of my favorite things (alcohol and candy) into this delish cupcake!
 
Next came the tough part, choosing my booze and candy. After tons of internal debate I ended up with Kahlua & KitKat. I was inspired by a Mocha KitKat cupcake that used coffee (but no booze). What goes better with coffee than Kahlua!? It also used KitKat Bites, which my grocery store doesn’t carry.
 I really wanted to do a “from scratch” chocolate cake, and I found the original version of this recipe at restlesschipotle.com. She used Caramel Vodka (yuuum), which my local liquor store doesn’t carry. The only caramelly (haha NOT a word) liquor they had was this Bailey’s. I figured, what the heck, why not? Originally, there was supposed to be 12 ounces of bittersweet chocolate chips. I don’t like bittersweet chocolate so I would have used semi-sweet anyways. 12 ounces seemed like a lot of chocolate, especially when you add the KitKat’s in. I ended up coarse chopping some leftover Baker’s chocolate squares, and some Nestle chocolate chunks. I had planned on adding the KitKat in whole, but it stuck up way too much! So I froze them overnight, cut them in half and stuck them back in the freezer, in between batches. I don’t know if sticking them in the freezer makes a difference, but it kept me from excessive “snacking” while baking.
 
The buttercream is my standard recipe… I got about half way through frosting the cupcakes and realized, somehow I didn’t have enough for all 30! I’ve never had that problem before. Maybe I over frosted?! I was also out of unsalted butter. WTF!? I stopped frosting, and made another batch (halved, and with salted butter), then mixed the leftover from the first batch of frosting with the new frosting. So maybe you should consider making more frosting, or frosting your cupcakes less.
 
Basically… this cupcake was an episode of “what I don’t have (or can’t find)”. Moral of the story: give yourself time to find the booze and keep extra supplies on hand…
 
Enjoy.
-Hey Waitress!!
Kahlua Caramel KitKat Cupcakes (recipe)
