Adult PB&J Cupcakes

They REALLY taste like Peanut Butter & Jelly! Hehe, I’m totes pumped that this recipe worked out. Honestly, I was worried that it wouldn’t. All for naught. 😉
 
So, I used the same chocolate cake base as the KitKat cupcakes (from restlesschipotle.com) and Pinnacle Grape flavored Vodka.
 
:::Side Note::: I keep saying “flavored” because I’m pretty sure there are vodka brands that “specialize” in vodka made just from grapes. Get me? I want you to use grape FLAVORED vodka, not (necessarily) vodka DISTILLED from grapes. Darn liquor can be so confusing, and I bet I just made it worse.
:::Another Side::: When I bought this bottle of Pinnacle I felt like a Vodka Traitor. Seriously, I felt guilty! I’ve changed vodka brands! I used to drink Three Olives. I realized that 3/4 of the vodka I’ve recently purchased are Pinnacle, and the other was KettleOne! Gasp!
 
Now that I’ve got all that random out of my system… back to the baking. The first dozen of these I filled 1/2 way plopped the Reese’s Cup in, then topped off with more batter. The PB ended up melting, and caused the cupcakes to sink in the middle. If you fill them 3/4 full, then lightly press the Reese’s cup in they’ll look like the pictures! Check out how the cake batter rose up, and made a perfect place to put the jelly! Make sure you use mini Reese’s, not the bite sized! And, don’ forget to take ALL the paper/ foil off. I baked them for 17 minutes. The toothpick trick doesn’t work very well with these, if you poke a chocolate chip it’s going to look like batter. My suggestion is to poke more than one.
 
I kind of “winged it” with the frosting (as usual). I started off with the usual base of 1 cup of butter, 3 cups of sugar, and 4+ tablespoons of “liquid”. I used more jelly than vodka because I didn’t want the slightly “fake” taste from the vodka to overwhelm the other flavors. I chopped the Reese’s PB Cups up so they would melt easier, and I melted it so the frosting wouldn’t be chunky. I’m not sure exactly how many Reese’s I used, but it was between 12 & 15.
 
I think that’s everything…
Happy Baking!
 -Hey Waitress!!
Click THIS LINK to make these!
Leave a Reply

