Red Headed Sl*t Cupcakes

If you’ve never had a Red Headed Slut you don’t know what you’re missing! I demand you have one. Right. Now.  At the bar I used to work at we made it as a shooter (1 oz Jager, 1 oz peach schnapps, and 2 oz cranberry juice), but I’ve seen it made with more (or less) cranberry. This is the ONLY way I’ll drink Jager. Although I did enjoy (eating) the JagerBomb cupcakes. Hmm, maybe the ‘Meister is starting to grow on me?
 
I used a variation of the recipe from the Cookies & Cream cupcakes, and just changed around some of the liquids. Sadly, the cake flavor is kind of unremarkable. Don’t get me wrong, it’s good, just not as Slutty as I hoped for. I got the idea to soak the cranberries from a blog post about rum raisin oatmeal cookies (which I put on my “to bake” list). Although I would soak them overnight if possible! I forgot to do it last night…
Don’t over-fill your cupcake tins! I filled the first batch 3/4 full, and they ended up overflowing so badly the edges burnt, and I had to trim them off. Not pretty. Unfortunately I accidentally deleted the picture. Filling the liners 2/3 full will definitely be enough. I baked mine for the full 20 minutes.  They’re a bit brown on the bottoms… not burnt, just brown.;)  They’re very moist, and are sticking to the liners pretty bad. I’m not sure how to fix that…
 
I used a regular old average buttercream recipe. The cupcake were supposed to be Red Headed, but I only had the burgundy gel food color (which turned out hot pink!). Awkward. I don’t really know how to explain it, but I seemed to have beat the frosting too long, it started getting a little odd-looking. That’s the only way I can describe it. It seemed unfluffy, or slightly liquidly. It wasn’t bad enough to remake, just something to think about for next time. Maybe I’ll need a bit more powdered sugar?
 
That’s all for tonight… I’m off to have a RHS and a cupcake. Hehehe.
Happy Sunday Cupcakery,
-Hey Waitress!!
 
Red Headed Slut Cupcake recipe
Leave a Reply

