B52 Cupcakes

I won’t lie… when I turned 21 this was my FAVORITE shot to order at the bar. And I ordered it a lot. Long day shift with shitty tippers? B52. Short night shift with awesome tippers? B52. Some one has a birthday? B52. Your dog died? Have a B52. You get my drift? Anytime was a good time for one of these.
 
Wait… WHAT!? You’ve never had a B52!? Get your rump to the nearest bar and order one of these. Now.
 
Alright, now that you’ve tried the glorious layered concoction of Kahlua, Bailey’s Irish Cream, and Grand Marnier… I can continue.
 
It was good, wasn’t it?
 
I’ve been tossing the idea of making these around for a few months, but I wasn’t sure HOW. I couldn’t decide how to get all the flavors layered. At first I thought maybe little mini layer cakes. But it was going to be too much work. Then I thought of just combining the Kahlua & Bailey’s in the cake and the Grand Marnier in the frosting. But then I wouldn’t have the pretty layered look! Sigh…
This week I buckled down and decided to just do it. Actually… I picked B52’s this week because I wanted to find a “from scratch” yellow cake and another chocolate cake to add to my recipe book. I found both on All Recipes, then used the serving size button and divided it in half. Then I substituted the alcohol for half of the liquid in each. Tah-Dah! Sadly… I can’t really taste either the Kahlua or the Bailey’s. Boo. But, they’re still yummy! I was also a little disappointed about the way they rose. I was hoping it would be more even, but I guess that was probably because of the different densities…
 
The Grand Marnier buttercream is just a variation of my standard recipe. It’s YUMMY! Actually, I think it’s close to perfect. I love the flavor! In fact I can’t wait to use it on some chocolate cupcakes. Drooooooool.
 
Now, go bake something! I’m going to eat a cupcake.
 
Happy Cupcakery!
-Hey Waitress!!
 
Recipe here.
Leave a Reply

