Running

I’m currently jobless (still, since we moved to PA over a year ago), and it kinda sucks. I get bored, and antsy. And then  I eat a lot. So to continue eating like a FattyMcFattyPants I started working out (running, light lifting, yoga, cardio) when we moved here…
 
I started out on the treadmill, just kind of “winging it”. You know, going with the flow. I was on that thing 6 days a week, plus getting on the elliptical for 3 of those days. Eventually I got my mileage and speed up to pretty good numbers. Then it happened. One day in the beginning of February, I went for my run, finished, and that night, my chest started to hurt.  I felt like there was a small elephant sitting on me. It was so uncomfortable, almost painful, like my heart was going to beat right out of my too-tight chest. I went to the urgent care, and the Doc told me it was “inflammation of the chest wall, probably caused by trauma”. And then proceeded to ask me in a variety of way if my husband beat me. For the record: the answer was no. Anyways… they suggested less caffeine (for my heart), less (or none) cigarettes, and to take some time off to heal. Oh, I forgot to mention, at this point I was drinking 2 (16oz) cups of coffee in the morning and at least one 16oz bottle of coke a day, and smoking about half a pack of menthol (light) Camels. Ooops. So, I quit drinking caffeine (except for a cup of half-caff), cut back my smokes to 4 a day, and took a month off.
gradually after that month off I starting working out again, mostly on the stationary bike, then the elliptical. Eventually I started running again, but only one day a week. I soon realized that I missed running. The mindlessness of pushing my body as hard as I could go, it gave me time to clear my head and NOT think, unless I wanted too.
 
So the first point of this post was to say that this summer I realized I needed goals. I didn’t want to push my body (too far) past what it could do. BUT I needed something to be proud of. Somehow my warped mind came to the conclusion that I want to run a half marathon by the time I reach 30. That’s about 3 years away. EEEK! I just dated myself, I guess I’m not just a “20 something” anymore. In order to run a half marathon, I figured I’d need to start running outside. And get serious about it. To work myself up to getting outside in( public, where people could see my jiggly rump, and gasping) I needed to start small. Like running 5k. Inside. Then outside. Then a 10K. I intend on running a 10K race, then starting to “train” for a half marathon!
 
I finished the CouchTo5K treadmill version in the middle of September! Then I relaxed a little bit, and worked on my pace/speed until the first week of October, when I started to outdoor version (3 runs a week, for 9 weeks)! I bought myself a new pair of sneaks, and a Nike+ GPS watch. Speaking of Nike+, I seem to be having accuracy issues when I use it on the treadmill (which I still run on 2x a week), and I’m not sure why… But it does match (pretty close, down to the 0.01 range) of the MapMyFitness app on my phone…
 
The other point to this post was the following mini rant:
“running” outside is much diff than running on a treadmill. Between the wind, uneven sidewalks, and acorns… It’s hard. Not to mention I actually need to pay attention (for fear of getting, umm, lost), and my near inability to “run thru” shin splints. Flailing around all elbows and ankles, and jiggling in all the wrong places, panting and gasping for breath like I just RAN (not “ran”) a marathon… all to end up with shin splints and a runny nose.
rant over. the good news is I “ran” 3.32miles in 35:42minutes, which makes my average pace 10:44min/mi. Not too shabby for week 3.
 
I have a love/ hate relationship with running, can’t you tell?
 
Now that I got all that off my chest I need to choose which body part needs an ice pack to most…
-Hey Waitress!!
 
PS. More sweat now equals less jiggle later. (words to live by)
Leave a Reply

