Chocolate Bark & Caramel Popcorn Bars

Happy Halloween! WooooOOOO (spooky ghost sound)…
 
I don’t usually make “Kid Friendly” food. Mostly because I don’t have any (kids, that is). And to be perfectly honest, I really enjoy booze. Not that I’m a lush or anything, but every once and a while I like a drink…
That being said, I figured it was time to branch out a little bit. One of the things that make both these recipes so “kid friendly” (besides the fact there’s no booze in them) is that they’re both really easy to make. As long as you’re careful with all the warm melted stuff! The other thing I like about these is the giftability (haha, not a word!) for teachers or friends…
 
The Chocolate Bark was inspired by A Farmgirl’s Dabbles Octoberbark & Sugar Loco’s Buggy Bark. If you haven’t heard of either of them… Go now, you can alway come back to me later. 😉 MY favorite thing about the Bark (besides how yummy it is) is how customizable it is. Hubs and I basically went down the candy aisle and randomly picked Butterfinger’s & Rolo’s. The chocolate base can be changed to whatever you want (more semi sweet for a darker chocolate, or something like that). Another small difference would be to crush the Oreo’s fine, then sprinkle them on last, to make it look like “dirt” instead of bark. Speaking of those Oreo’s my grocery store didn’t have the Halloween ones! Bummer. CLICK FOR MY VERSION!
 
The Caramel Popcorn Bar recipe was inspired by Part Time Housewife’s version. I changed just a few things… like the Crunch N Munch. I really love caramel, and I really wanted to put caramel popcorn in this recipe. Sadly, my grocery store didn’t have any caramel popcorn besides the Crunch N Munch. They also didn’t have White Chocolate Reese’s Cups. Another grocery store let down. I just used the regular mini ones. Look at my version here!!
 
I really wanted to get this post up before today, but Hurricane/ SuperStorm Sandy messed with my (already crappy) internet service. Lucky for us, that was all she did here. In PA Philly and the suburbs got the worst of it. The East Coast got slammed, and NYC & the Jersey Shore have a long recovery ahead of them. Keep them in your thoughts.
 
Have a safe and happy Halloween!
-Hey Waitress!!
Leave a Reply

