Kahlua & Peppermint Red Velvet Cupcakes

I was super excited to make these cupcakes. The idea started when I saw (and forgot to save) a York Peppermint Pattie cupcake online. It looked delish! I also REALLY love peppermint flavored things, Christmas/ the holidays are the perfect season for me to use it in EVERYTHING. So I figured what could be better than adding 2 of my favorite things (Kahlua & Peppermint) to one of my husband’s favorite things (Red Velvet Cake)!?

They didn’t turn out exactly how I planned. Mostly because I forgot to take into account that the York Patties would COMPLETELY melt. It left these (tasty, but…) sticky clumps and holes in the cupcakes, and they totally stuck to the liners in some spots. They still taste delish, but I’m now on a mission to figure out why the patties melted… I really wanted them to have pretty “candy cane” looking stripes in the middles. *sigh* I feel the need to mention that I made the first 12 with crushed York Patties in the middle, then sprinkled more on top. The second batch I made with the sliced York Patties. Those came out much prettier and slightly less sticky (but still melted).

The original batter recipe was for Southern Comfort Red Velvet Cupcakes from The Boozy Baker (Lucy Baker). I obviously modified it by adding the York Peppermint Patties & switching out the SoCo for Kahlua. The frosting recipe is also based on the one in the cookbook. Just add the crushed patties! I’m sure Red Velvet purists are probably in an uproar over the lack of cream cheese frosting… but *shudder* I don’t like cream cheese frosting. Deal with it. 😉

My only other “complaint” is that I can’t really taste the Kahlua. It needs more booze! Of course, I think everything needs more booze! Especially during the holidays. Don’t deny it, you drink more when you’re surrounded by loved ones, and a crazy extend family. Or not, maybe it’s just me.

Either way… Happy Baking!
-Hey Waitress!!

Kahlua & Peppermint Red Velvet Recipe Here

Leave a Reply

