Mint Whoopie PI(e)s… an Attempt

If you’re a Math Nerd (I’m not), or know some nerds or geeks… Then you know that Pi Day is coming up this week (3.14= March 14th)! I consider myself a partial geek.  And if you’re Irish, like booze, or don’t live under a rock, then you know St. Patrick’s day is also coming up…
 
I really wanted to combine a dessert for both “holidays” so I thought I’d make Mint Whoopie PI(e)s!
 
It didn’t exactly work out like I thought it would. They came out pretty cute, and Hubs said they tasted good. But not minty. Hmph. I guess I need to back up a little bit…
I recently bought both a whoopie pie pan & a mini  whoopie pie pan. In my defense I plan on multi-tasking with both. The full sized pan can be used for corn cakes, or muffin tops. And the min pan can be used for French Macarons (I hope).
 
I didn’t post a recipe because I used the Wilton Whoopie Pie version for my cakes, then used my Boozy Marshmallow Fluff frosting (from the Boozy S’mores Cupcakes)  for the filling.
 
The cakes came out pretty yummy, but they’re much bigger than I thought they would be. The batter rose pretty high in both pans. For the large ones it was OK, but I ended up cutting the small ones in half before filling them. Basically I had double the amount of mini whoopies then the recipe said. Does that make sense?
 
As for the filling… I made the full amount from the recipe. It was WAAAAAAAAY too much! I’d suggest only making half. I used Crème De Menthe (and added some green food color)… and couldn’t taste even a smidge of boozy mint flavor in the filling. Total bummer.
 
But the good news about all the extra filling? I used (some of) it, in those neat-o little pretzel bites. Totally inspired by these ones from Shugary Sweets. She is a GENIUS… you should def check out her blog.
Basically I added some melted Candy Melts (about 50 pieces) to about a cup of the leftover frosting. Then I scooped a little bit on to a square pretzel and put another pretzel on top. Then you dip it in some more melted Candy Melt. It’s delish (but not minty). Let the candy harden, then EAT IT!
 
Happy Almost PI Day!
-Hey Waitress!!
 
PS I used premade/ packaged decorating frosting to write out the Pi symbol.
Leave a Reply

