Triple Mint Chocolate Cupcakes!

Chocolate cake made with Bailey’s, Crème de Menthe, chopped Andes & Thin Mints. Frosted with Chocolate vodka, Andes & Thin Mint buttercream… RECIPE HERE!
 
Mint & Chocolate is one of my favorite flavor combinations… right behind chocolate & orange, chocolate & peanut butter, and right in front of peanut butter & jelly. I also REALLY love Thin Mints. Like, so much that I bought 6 boxes when I saw the Girl Scouts out in front of the grocery store last month. Ok… I didn’t just see them, I went on to the Girl Scouts website and used the cookie finder. I’m almost embarrassed about this. Almost.
After demolishing a box… I realized that I should make something with at least one of the boxes. Thus, these Triple Mint Chocolate Cupcakes were born.
 
I’ve made another Mint Chocolate Cupcake before, and I didn’t really change much when I made this version. I used extra Crème de Menthe (instead of Kahlua), added the Thin Mints, and used less chocolate chips. I also filled the liners almost all the way to the top, instead of ¾ full, so I ended up with 28 cupcakes instead of 30. The batter was my favorite chocolate cake. Sadly… I think I chopped up my Thin Mints too much. If I make these cupcakes again I’ll probably use a whole Thin Mint in each cupcake. I’ll just fill the liner ½ way, put a Thin Mint on top, then cover it with more batter.
I used the same buttercream recipe as the original version, and changed out the Crème de Menthe for chocolate vodka. I also added Andes & Thin Mints to the frosting, chopped SUPER FINE. At this point… I would suggest using a food processor if you have one. I don’t, so my frosting was kind of chunky (and definitely NOT pretty)! I’m a little sad because I tried a cupcake last night and barely got any chocolate vodka flavor…
 
Over all… I really love these. AND I got a whole box of Thin Mints out of my kitchen (one less for me to demolish in a fit of “diet” rage bingeing)!
 
Happy Baking!
-Hey Waitress!!
 
Leave a Reply

