S’mores! With homemade Marshmallow & honey cinnamon cookies!

So… if you read the recipe for these S’mores… you might have noticed that I made 24 marshmallows and 44 cookies. Then you’ll do some basic math and realize that there aren’t enough cookies to make every S’more a sandwich. What’s a girl to do!? Weeeeeell… you could roll the cookies thinner, or you could eat the extra marshmallow, or you could do what I did and just use one cookie for some of them.
 
I made these over 2 days because the marshmallow has to sit for at least 4 hours before you can cut out the shapes. And because I wanted to sit on the couch and hang out with Hubs and the animals. Who am I kidding? I was feeling REALLY lazy this weekend, and lacking the motivation to do anything. But if you’re ambitious (or slightly motivated)… it could be done in a day.
 
The marshmallow recipe I used was from Miss CandiQuik. You should check out her post. Then you should go read about what happened the first time I tried to make marshmallow. This time around it worked out much better! I boiled everything in a MEDIUM saucepan, but it took me nearly 9 minutes to reach 240 degrees (AFTER the sugar was melted). Hmph. I don’t think the heat was high enough.
 
The cookie recipe is from Add A Pinch. I stumbled on it when I was searching for homemade graham cracker recipes. I started off mixing the dry ingredients into the butter/sugar/honey in my stand mixer… but finished it by hand with a wooden spoon.
I may have eaten one or 2 of these cookies as soon as they came out of the oven. Oh. My. Gaaaaaawd. So delish!
 
When I was putting these together I realized that one of my favorite thing about eating S’mores is the crunchy toasted outside & gooey inside of the marshmallow. So I broiled the first cookie sheet on HIGH, those kept their shape well, and got a nice brown color on top. The second batch got broiled on LOW for closer to 4 minutes, totally spread out and didn’t get really brown on top. I like the look of the ones I broiled on HIGH the best. They held the ganache better, and left a little room on the edge of the bottom cookie to catch the drips!
 
This is the part when I have to confess something. I used closer to 2 ½ cups of chocolate chips for the ganache and I ended up using a tablespoonful (or more) on each S’mores. I couldn’t help it. I originally planned on using only 1/3 the amount of ganache, but soon realized it wouldn’t be NEARLY enough to satisfy my sweet tooth.
 
I’m pretty proud of these S’mores. They came out just like I wanted!
 
I’m keeping some in the fridge (will the cream in the ganache spoil if I leave them out?), and nuking them for about 10-15 seconds to warm up the marshmallow before I eat it. Just be careful, you don’t want it to explode!
 
Happy Baking.
-Hey Waitress!!
 
Also… it was Memorial Day this weekend. Not just the start of the summer, but a time to remember all the men and women who have fallen in service to our country. Please Bless Them.
 
Leave a Reply

