Our First House & A Lack Of Sunday Baking!

Ok! I’m super-duper excited! In just a few short days we’re closing on our first house! It’s been a crazy process, but we can finally see the light at the end of the tunnel!
Because I’m not working all the packing and organizing has been left to me. Of course… it was left to me when we move HERE from VA, and when we moved from Denver to VA, and when we moved from VA to Denver (and I had a job & school)! Jeez, we move a lot, huh? But the thing is… Hubs is a horrible packer, so it’s probably a good thing I’m doing it. If he had it his way we’d throw everything in whatever box we had handy, no rhyme nor reason. And we wouldn’t do it til the day before we move. That doesn’t work for me. I want everything to be neat and organized. I want all my kitchen stuff together (2 large totes and not finished), all the bathroom stuff together, towels together, guest bedroom stuff, my shoes (2 large totes, and 1 large box)… you get the idea?
We weren’t supposed to move for another 2 weeks, I really wanted to paint the house without worrying about our furniture, and I wanted to make sure the new furniture (will still haven’t picked out) would be there before so we could settle in. That’s not going to happen. We’re moving the day after we close!
I had a mini meltdown when I discovered some houseflies in the apt. Gross. The thing is, I keep a clean apt. My kitchen is cleaned everyday, and I vacuum and all that other crap once a week. So, I have NO IDEA how those nasty Mo-Fo’s got in! I freaked out… I mean, there was crying and everything! Fortunately, my hero came to my rescue with a can of fly spray! When you add houseflies to all the other little problems that we’ve had here it equals time to get the heck outta here. I’ll paint around our furniture!
At any rate… I really can’t wait to get moved in, and start (attempting) to redecorate to really make a home for us!
 
Because of all the packing/ organizing I haven’t done Sunday Bakery  for the past 2 weeks. It’s not that I haven’t baked. I just haven’t baked anything of “my own”.
Last week I made this delish PB & J Coffee Cake from Two Peas & Their Pod. I doubled the PB topping and spread some in the middle with a little extra jelly, then put the rest on top. I won’t do that again. I’m not sure what happened by the middle of my coffee cake didn’t bake right… I think I should’ve left the jelly out of the middle. Stick to the original, or leave the jelly out of the middle!
I also cut up some leftover mini candy bars and some Oreo’s and made Candy Bark. Just lay them out flat on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper, then pour melted chocolate (I used white) over them, let it set, and break it into pieces!
This week I made this awesome PB & Pretzel Fudge from Shugary Sweets. It doesn’t have the fudgey texture I was hoping for, but I think some condensed milk or marshmallow Fluff could change that. Sadly, my little pieces don’t look nearly as pretty as hers do! About half of mine broke into strange (not square) chunks. I blame my crappy knife (my “good” set is packed)!
Hopefully, I’ll be back in the Sunday Bakery groove for next weekend! I’ve got a few “new” cupcakes that I’m really excited to try.
 
Happy Monday!
-Hey Waitress!!
 
PS. Be forewarned. There’s probably going to be a plethora of “decorating” and painting posts in the future. I will pre-apologize for my lack of sense, and for my love of stupidly bright colors. I’m sure I will be insulting your design sense and your eyes!
Leave a Reply

