Mimosa Blondies!!

 As much as I bake with booze, you’d think I would be a raging alcoholic. AMIRITE? But, that’s not the case. I went through that phase (mostly in college, and the few years after I dropped out), and I got sick of the hangovers eventually. Honestly, I rarely drink at all now. I have a random glass of wine, or a delish wheaty beer. However, last Wednesday was New Years Eve/ Day. We didn’t do anything exciting for NYE. I just laid on the couch (and maaabye fell asleep) while he played NBA2014 (or whatever).
 
We opted to trade the NYE shenanigans for brunch Thursday morning. I made a pretty good Baked French Toast dish, some eggs, a little sausage… and MIMOSA’S!
 
I’ll be sharing the Baked French Toast recipe later… Right now, I’m going to tell you what I did with the leftover champagne.
 
I turned it into these Mimosa Blondies (click on it for the recipe)! I used the same recipe base as these Moscato Blondies with just a few tweeks.
 
the champagne flavor isn’t really noticeable. 😦 Maybe there was too much brown sugar. I think I might try out a different base next time. Or, possibly,  switch out some of the brown sugar for regular granulated? Overall these tasted deliciously orangey. Not exactly the Mimosa flavor I was going for… but still good. I think they could use some frosting. Some powdered sugar, and a little champagne whisked together might be what these need to take them over the line to Mimosa-ville. HA! that was wicked corney. Sorry.
 
Sadly I forgot to take pictures. Use your imagination (or look at the pictures from the Moscato Blondies).
 
Happy Baking!
-Hey Waitress!!
Leave a Reply

