Baked French Toast- N2MCC1

Welcome to week 1 of 2014’s New To Me Cooking Challenge!
 
I’ve made this Baked French Toast 2x already. Once was for Christmas Day breakfast for the family and then again for Hub’s and I on New Year’s Day! I played around with the recipe both times… but this recipe was my favorite.
 
I used sourdough bread because I like the flavor, it’s nice and dense, and has a great thick crust. I saw some recipe that used French bread or baguettes. I also used day old bread both times. This was to help it absorb the egg mixture better.
 
Speaking of egg mixture, I’ll probably add a 5th egg the next time I make this. It ended up being a little dry.
 
In the recipe I used 1 tablespoon cinnamon/ sugar mixture. I keep a container of cinnamon & sugar in my pantry… I use it All. The. Time. For everything. It’s basically 3 parts sugar to 1 part cinnamon, but when I make it, I just dump some sugar in the container and then add cinnamon a little at a time until I get it to the cinnamonyness (NEW WORD!) that I want.
 
I’m thinking I might leave the flour out of the topping next time. I really like it when the brown sugar gets all melted and sticky, and the flour added in kind of changes that…
 
I said bake to desired doneness because how long you cook this will depend on how you like your French Toast. Hubs likes his soft and a little squishy. I like mine well done and almost crispy. I think I cooked this dish for about 30 or 40 minutes.
 
Happy Making!
-Hey Waitress!!
 
Check out this Baked French Toast Recipe
See the list of 2014’s New 2 Me Cooking Challenge
Leave a Reply

