Chocolate & Cayenne Cookies

Soo… there’s no recipe for these cookies.  I used THIS one from Food.com. The only thing I did differently was add more chocolate chips. Overall these are pretty good. The cayenne flavor is pretty prominent, so they’re not for everyone.
 
I didn’t share an adapted recipe because I  want to change a few things.
1. these are pretty crispy cookies. I prefer chewy cookies… I neeed to research how to make chewy cookies.
2. the cayenne flavor is REALLY strong. It overwhelms the sweetness from the chocolate. So, even though I double the amount of chocolate chips, I think I should have reduced the amount of cayenne I used.
3. I think if I add some type of frosting, or maybe turn these into sandwich cookies the cayenne wouldn’t be so over whelming. I imagine the sweet frosting would balance out the spice?
4. and speaking of chocolate… I used 2 kinds of chips, dark & milk. I think it was a good idea… I just think I’ll use even more next time.
 
Some other notes:
1. I got about 7 dozen cookies, using a half-tablespoon scoop.
2. I made the dough the night before, and kept it in the fridge between batches.
3. I flattened the cookies slightly before I put them in the oven, and I only baked them for 10 minutes.
 
Overall these are good. Not great. BUT,  I’m pretty excited to try this combination some more. I already tackled CUPCAKES, maybe brownies will be next?
 
Happy Baking!!
-Hey Waitress!!
Leave a Reply

