Fried Rice- N2MCC15!!

When Hub’s & I get take out from a restaurant it’s ALWAYS one of 2 things… Pizza. Or Chinese. I already make pizza at home, and I’ve managed a few favorite Chinese take-out dishes (Beef & Broccoli, General Tso’s Chicken, and Crispy Orange Chicken).

When I make all those dishes at home I always feel like they’re missing something. That something missing… its Fried Rice.

Lucky for me I found the original version of this recipe over at Gimme Some Oven.

I changed a few things. Most notably… I used Brown Minute Rice. Yah, the kind that only takes 5 minutes to make. I feel like it’s kind of cheating, but then again, that’s how I roll. 😉

I left the carrots out of my version ‘cause I forgot to get some when I went to the grocery store. I just added some extra peas.

I prepped this recipe around lunch time, so I could do all the frying after we got done at the gym around 7. I scrambled the egg and chopped up the green onion then stuck them in the fridge (together). I cooked the rice (according to the package directions) and then spread it out in a 9×13 pan to chill in the fridge. I cut up the onions & garlic, and stuck them in the freezer with the peas. Because the onion & garlic was frozen it took longer than 5 minutes.

Overall this Fried Rice gets thumbs up from both Hub’s and I. Next time, I’m only planning on making ½ this recipe because we still have some leftovers in the fridge!

That’s it for week 15 of my New 2 Me Cooking Challenge 2014. Check out my version of Fried Rice HERE!

-Holly

Leave a comment