Basic Yellow Cupcakes with Chocolate Buttercream

One day last week one of my friends from Virginia emailed me asking for a plain yellow cake recipe with chocolate frosting. Would you believe me if I told you I didn’t have one?! Seriously. I’m positive I’ve baked a simple (booze free) yellow cake… haven’t I?! And I KNOW I’ve made plain chocolate buttercream. Riiiiiight!?

Apparently not. Well… there was the one I used for the S’more cupcakes, but my notes specifically commented that it was DRY. Boo. I was embarrassed to email her back and tell her no.

Thus, this was born. Thus?! I don’t think I used that right, but it sounded cool, so whatevs.

I’ve had this shoved in my recipe binder forever. I assume that I’ve used it before… but I have no idea when.

Overall these cupcakes are good. The cake is nice and moist and the frosting has the perfect amount of chocolate flavor.

However, I had two problems with this recipe… the first is that it only made 21 cupcakes. That’s a really irritating number for me. It’s not 1 ½ dozen or 2 dozen… it’s annoying. If I had filled the liners less full of batter they wouldn’t have risen enough, so I guess I’m just going to have to deal with it. The second problem I have w/ this recipe is… well, it’s kind of boring. I’m not a plain cake kinda girl anymore. The whole time I was making these all I wanted to do was add a bunch of junk to them. Like jellybeans in the batter. That wouldv’e been seriously awesome. Assuming the jellybeans didn’t melt…

If you’re ever in the mood for a (slightly boring) yellow cake with chocolate frosting this is a good choice.

Happy Baking!

-Holly

Click here for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

