Quick Tomato Soup- N2MCC16

Oh.Em.Gee. I’m so excited! It was 50 degrees this morning when I went for my run! 50!!That’s warm! I ran in capri pants & a light long sleeve shirt! *Pumps fist & dances around*

It was NOT 50 degrees when I made this soup last week, for the 16th week of my New 2 Me Cooking Challenge 2014. I hope that was the last cold day of the spring!

It’s called quick Tomato Soup for a really good reason. It’s quick! 😉 It’s also pretty low-calorie, due to the fact that the recipe uses chicken broth instead of cream or milk.

I ended up simmering my soup for the full 30 minutes.

You might want to invest in an immersion blender for this soup. It’s a little annoying to have to pour this in small batches into my food processor, then into another bowl, then back into the pot on the stove.

We ate this with grilled cheese sandwiches & cornbread croutons! It was delish!  Cornbread croutons?? Yup. Just cut up day-old cornbread, spray a cookie sheet w/ Pam, and bake the chunks until they’re crispy! I may have eaten a handful of those croutons before they even made it to my soup bowl.

Hubs likes tomato soup, so this is definitely ending up in our weekly rotation (once the weather gets cold again).

Happy Spring!!

-Holly

Leave a Reply

