Chicken Kabobs & Baked Chickpeas- N2MCC20

Welcome to week 20 of 2014’s New 2 Me Cooking Challenge! I made Chicken & Veggie Kabobs AND Baked Chickpeas this week!

Let’s start with the kabobs. There isn’t a recipe because, well, all you do is stick some chicken and veggies on a stick then grill ‘em til the chicken’s cooked through! I used my favorite marinade base recipe (that I really should post soon). It’s got soy sauce, lemon juice, a few basic spices, and BOOOZE!

I made these kabobs with bell peppers, onions, tomatoes, squash, brussel sprouts, and (of course) chicken. Next time I’m going to leave the brussel sprouts off. They didn’t cook all the way through and they were a total pain in the rear to get on the skewers. Also… I think I’ll make up extra marinade and soak all the veggies.

I was only going to make the kabobs, but then I realized it would be another “challenge” week without a recipe. I felt kinda guilty ‘cause I’ve been slacking pretty bad with the challenge recipes. Soooo… I consulted my Big Book of Recipes That I Really Want to Try and found these Baked Chickpeas.

I’ve never had chickpeas before so I wasn’t sure what to expect. What’s up with that weird skin/ shell stuff!? It came off some of them while I was rinsing and draining and I had no idea what to do. Are you supposed to peel it off? Eat it? What!? Thankfully Facebook was there for me, and after a few minutes I was told the skin can stay.

Overall the flavor is ok. But really… these are peas/ beans… they taste like peas/ beans. I’m not really excited about them. I think they’ll make a nice snack before going to the gym in the afternoon. I probably won’t make them again, but that’s just because (apparently) chickpeas aren’t my “thing”.

Are you wondering why I just called them peas/ beans? It’s because I learned something new this week. Chickpeas are also called Garbanzo Beans! Fun fact!

No? OK my excitement was a little overblown there. Sorry.

Before you go, check out the Baked Chickpeas recipe , of my other 2014 New 2 Me Cooking Challenge Recipes, or 2013’s.

Happy Making!

-Holly

Leave a Reply

