My First Layer Cake!

Funfetti.

Marshmallow Fluff Filling.

Shortbread Streusel.

Buttercream Frosting.

I’m not even kidding.

I wish I could say this was my genius recipe… but… it’s not. I used this aaaaahmaaaaazing recipe from Cookies & Cups. I changed 3 things. I added and extra 1/4 cup of sprinkles in the cake, used my marshmallow fluff recipe for the filling, then added some of the shortbread streusel into the filling with the fluff. There’s no recipe because, like I said, I didn’t fundamentally change anything. My recipe for the Fluff Filling is at the bottom of the post.

Would you believe me if I told you that until this cake I’ve never made a layer cake?! I figured it was time to change that!

I read a lot of food blogs. A. Lot. In all that reading I’ve never come across a “How To Assemble A Layer Cake”. I was a weary of making one because it seemed like a ton of work… It wasn’t all that bad.

This cake was made in two, 8 inch pans, which are remarkable hard to find! I tried Target, K-Mart, and the local grocery store before I finally caved and went to Michael’s. I found 9 inch pans everywhere, but no 8 inches ones. Apparently 9 is standard. 😉

When it came time to bake I followed the recipe directions to the letter. The batter seemed really thin but it came out great! I think that thinness is what kept the cake from rising and getting a “dome”, which I would have had to trim off. I also didn’t trim the sides, but once you get the frosting on I could barely tell and The Mr. didn’t notice until I pointed it out.

While the cakes cooled I baked the Streusel Topping. Just like the directions said, I took out the cinnamon & added 2 tablespoons of sprinkles. It’s a little salty but combined with the sweetness from the cake it works out perfectly.

After the cakes and the streusel cooled COMPLETELY I filled it with Marshmallow Fluff Filling. I didn’t use the Toasted Marshmallow Frosting (like Cookies & Cups did) because I wanted to save a step (and because I had Fluff in the pantry but no marshmallows).  I spread it all out nice and even then sprinkled some streusel on top. Next time, I’m going to do 1/2 the fluff, then some streusel, topped with the remaining Fluff. I think it’ll keep the layers stuck together. I put the second cake on top and pressed down lightly to stick it together. Then I put it in the fridge for about half an hour to firm up the Fluff so I could do the crumb coat.

Crumb Coat? What’s that? What’s it do?

Apparently it’s a thin layer of frosting that goes on the cake to “seal” the cake. It makes the outer layer of frosting look smoother and more even, and keeps any crumbs from ruining the final product! I think it helps keep the filling in too… So, I slathered a thin layer of buttercream on, making sure to get everything smooth. I also made sure that it covered the filling. I put the whole thing back in the fridge to chill (again).

Supposedly keeping the cake chilled will make spreading the frosting easier? Whatever the reason after about 15 minutes in the fridge I took the cake out and covered it with more of the frosting. I ended up with some left over and tried to make edges…

But, let’s talk about how delish this frosting is before we start talking about my lack of decorating skills? This frosting might be my new favorite buttercream. I don’t know if it’s the shortening or what… but, OMG. I might never use another vanilla buttercream again. It tastes great and spreads perfectly. What more could a girl ask for!?

Back to my decorating “skills” and those pesky edges…. you know the kind that every baker seems to know how to make? the basic squiggle you see on the edge of every grocery store & bakery cake? I couldn’t get the hang of it no matter how many times I watched videos (or all those practice lines I made)! I guess it doesn’t look too bad for my first try? I also thought that my cake looked a smidge lopsided, but The Mr. didn’t notice until I pointed it out.  I had a little trouble getting the frosting to be an even thickness around the sides but that wasn’t a big deal until I we cut slices and saw it.

All in all this was surprisingly easy. The only thing that would’ve made this easier would be if I had purchased a “turntable”, one of those spinning cake stands so I didn’t have to stop and turn it. Lazy right!? I did all the assembly on a cake board, with a piece of parchment paper on top. I did buy a small offset spatula to make the frosting easier. I used a Wilton 32 star tip for the edges.

I’m pretty proud of myself! I made a layer cake! Thanks to Cookies & Cups for the awesome recipe! I should (finally) mention how freaking yummy this cake is. Seriously, we devoured it. It reminds me of bakery cakes from the grocery store… only 1000000000 times better! It’s perfectly sweet and the streusel takes it right over the top.

 

Happy Baking!

-Holly

 

Marshmallow Fluff FIlling: 4 tablespoons unsalted butter (softened), 1 cup powdered sugar, 1 cup Marshmallow Fluff, 1 tablespoon milk, 1 teaspoon vanilla. Combine all ingredients and beat until smooth.

 

 

2 thoughts on “My First Layer Cake!

Leave a Reply

