Broccoli Salad- N2MCC25

I made a broccoli salad w/ carrots, dried cranberries, bacon bits, raw onion, chopped dill pickles, and feta cheese for week 25 of my New 2 Me Cooking Challenge! I needed something “wet” to keep it all together so I used a little bit of light sour cream.

I’ve debated whether I was going to share this recipe or not…

See, the thing is… it was OK. But it needs some work. TheMr. and I both liked it, but it wasn’t perfect, and I’m planning on making a bunch of changes.

The first change I plan on making is taking out the cranberries, we both thought they where too sweet. They didn’t really go w/ the other flavors. I think I’m going to replace them with sunflower seeds!

The other change I know I’m making is switching out the sour cream for something else… I’m just not sure what (it definitely won’t be mayo). I saw a bunch of 0 calorie dressings/marinades/ sauces in the baking aisle of my local grocery store last week, I might try one of those. I’m thinking a garlicy flavor…

So… this post is just an update to say I haven’t forgotten about my weekly challenge. I’m going to try out a few variations on this particular recipe and once I get it just right I’ll post it!

while you’re waiting… check out 2014’s other recipes. Or 2013’s New 2 Me Cooking Challenge

-Holly

PS. The other reason I didn’t post this recipe? I forgot to take pictures!!

Leave a Reply

