Single Serve Chocolate Chip Pancakes- N2MCC36

I barely adapted this recipe from Alex Likes to Cook for week 36 of my New 2 Me Cooking Challenge.

The.mr travels a lot for work… I kind of hate it. But at the same time I realize how lucky I am. He could be serving in the military, putting his life on the line and deployed in the Middle East. He could be swinging a hammer on a rig, for 4 weeks at a time. So, I’m thankful he’s only gone one or 2 nights a week. Plus it give me time to do things like wearing sweatpants all day and leaving the bathroom door open when I pee!

The worst thing about him being gone (besides the fact that I have to let the dog out a million times a day) is cooking for one. I just don’t have the motivation to get out the pots and pans and make myself a meal. It ends up being too much work! I usually end up eating a sandwich or taking a prepackaged chicken cutlet out of the freezer. It gets kind of boring…

Sometimes it gets even worse! Like a few weeks ago when he was gone ALL WEEK. Somewhere around day 3 I wanted pancakes. So I made the effort and whipped up a batch of boxed pancakes. Do you know how many pancakes that is!? I had soooooo many leftover I had to eat them for breakfast the next day and STILL had leftovers.

That’s where these Single Serve Chocolate Chip Pancakes should’ve come into play! I made them last week when the.mr took his weekly trip to The ‘Burgh.

I didn’t change much from the original recipe. I used almond milk instead of regular and added the mini chocolate chips. Overall thy came out really good! They’re pretty thick and not super fluffy, but I think that might be from the wheat flour. Mine didn’t get that pretty brown color that regular box pancake usually do… but that’s just not really a big deal.

I thought I had made these “light”, but I didn’t. There are a few things I’m going to try next time to lower the calorie count, like using applesauce instead of oil and using egg white (not a whole egg). These could be under 300 calories if you leave out the chocolate chips. But honestly… why? With a side of fruit and some sugar-free syrup you could have breakfast for dinner that comes in under 500 calories.

The next time you get a craving for pancakes and there isn’t anyone to share with, you’ll definitely want to try these.

Happy Making!

-Holly

Click HERE for Single Serve Chocolate Chip Pancakes recipe!

 

Leave a Reply

