I Made a Mummy Cake!

I made this cake last weekend.

The cake & frosting is the Red Velvet Cake from the Boozy Baker Cookbook. It’s the same recipe I used for the SoCo Red Velvet Cupcakes and the Kahlua & Peppermint Red Velvet Cupcakes… except… I left it in cake form. 😉 I really love that cookbook BTW. If you like booze and baking you NEED it.

Back to the cake… I baked it in 8 inch round pans, and only trimmed the dome off the bottom one. I wanted the Mummy to have a roundish head. I crumb coated the cake after filling it w/ about 1/3 of the buttercream. After that I used the rest of the frosting to cover the cake.

I used the same Marshmallow Fondant that I always use. It’s from Angie at Big Bear’s Wife. All I did was roll the fondant out to about 1/8 of an inch thick, cut it into strips (using a pizza cutter) and laid them over the buttercream frosted cake, to look like the wrappings.

Did you know fondant “sweats” in humidity? And if your fridge is has too much moisture in it your fondant will sweat, and ultimately melt? No? I didn’t either. Not until I noticed this cake sweating in the fridge. AAH! I guess anything topped with this fondant is a “Sharing” not a “Storing” cake. I ended up just leaving the finished cake on the counter in a cake carrier. Also… I still have no idea how to stop fondant from sweating. Darn internet wasn’t even a little helpful in this case. If you don’t feel like making fondant you can buy it at craft stores like Michael’s.

I was going to use Life Savers for the eyes, but then I saw a giant bag of “gummy body parts” at the grocery store and I couldn’t pass them up.

I’m pretty proud of the way this cake came out…

However, I don’t really love the way I wrapped the fondant around the base. I should’ve rolled it out into VERY long strips, and then wrapped those along the base. Instead I didn’t measure the length, and it looks sloppy (in a bad way, not cute like the wrappings are falling off).

The.mr pointed out that I should’ve given my mummy a nose and mouth! I didn’t even think of it. Next time I’m going to use some frosting & the leftover cake from when I flattened the bottom layer to make a nose bump! I’m not sure how to do a mouth… maybe I’ll dye some fondant red or black and stick it on the cake, then put the fondant “wrapping” on.

This Mummy Cake was pretty easy and cute. I think it’d be great for a Halloween party, or just because. It’s easily adaptable. Just use box cake mix in your favorite flavor, and store-bought fondant to make it even easier!

Happy Making!
-Holly

Leave a Reply

