(Updated) Chuck Wagon Stew- N2MCC42

The first time I made this stew was waaaaaaay back in the day. It was the very first thing I ever put in a slow cooker in my adult life. I was 22. That was… before I owned a slow cooker and too many years ago. It’s adapted from All Recipes.

I decided it was time to update the original recipe for my New 2 Me Cooking Challenge (even though it’s not new) because I wanted something quick/ easy, I was feeling lazy, and because I can. 😉

I added the celery and garlic. Then I switched out the regular sausage for chicken sausage and regular carrots for baby carrots. Other than that, the only thing I did was add the weights to the recipe.

I used those big chunks of stew meat in this recipe, and then trimmed some of the fat off of it. I could probably use a leaner (read: more expensive) cut next time, but… it spends so long in the slow cooker it practically falls apart and I think the fattiness adds a little bit of extra flavor.

I used a package of Alfresco (brand) Spicy Chicken Sausage. This brand seems to be the “go to” chicken sausage for the.mr & I. It’s decently priced and we haven’t used a flavor we didn’t like.

The original recipe called for 5 regular carrots, but I switched them out for 35 baby carrots. Why 35? I actually weighed 9 oz (which is equal to 3 servings) and then counted them. Why? Because I was counting calories. That’s also why there are weight measurements in the recipe.

This (Updated) Chuck Wagon Stew makes a TON of food so it’s great for families. The only thing I don’t like about it is that it doesn’t reheat very well. The carrots & potatoes get a little too mushy for my taste. I could probably fix this by cooking for less time in the slow cooker… maybe 7 hours instead of 8? Speaking of… it only takes 8 hours in my slow cooker to get this done and ready to eat. I think any more time would turn this into mush!

Overall this recipe is (still) a win. I really like how easy it is. It’s warm and filling, perfect for the chilly days that are coming.

Happy Making!
-Holly

CLICK for the (Updated) Chuck Wagon Stew recipe or look at the New 2 Me Cooking Challenge Recipe for 2013 or 2014!

Leave a Reply

