Slow Cooker Chicken Stock- N2MCC45

I adapted this Slow Cooker Chicken Stock recipe from Baked By Rachel for week 45 of my New 2 Me Cooking Challenge!

I’ve been dying to try to make my own chicken stock for a while. All the recipes I saw online need a big stock pot and have to sit on the stove top for hoooours! I don’t own a stock pot, and I sure as heck don’t want to babysit a pot on my (gas) stove for hours…

Luckily for me I stumbled on this recipe from Baked By Rachel, and it couldn’t be easier! All I did was throw everything in the slow cooker, turn it on, and let it cook. I left mine on all day.  I started it after my morning run & breakfast, and strained it after dinner. It ended up cooking for about 10 hours. I got about 7 ¾ cups of stock when all was said and done. Compared to the 6 hours and 8 ½ cups from the original recipe, my stock is just more concentrated. I used this stock to make my favorite Quick Chicken Noodle Soup and I ended up adding a little bit of water to the liquid stock. Just add a little at a time if the stock is too concentrated!

This Slow Cooker Chicken Stock recipe  is a great way to decrease the waste when you roast a chicken! I actually cheated and used a precooked whole chicken from the grocery store. Don’t judge me, but I’ve never roasted a whole chicken, but now I have no excuse not to try! I guess I’ll be googleing “how to roast a chicken” in the near future, especially now that I know how to use the bones & leftovers for this Slow Cooker Chicken Stock!

Happy Making!
-Holly

Wanna make my version of this Slow Cooker Chicken Stock!? Feeling adventurous? Look at the New 2 Me Cooking Challenge Recipe for 2013 or 2014!

Leave a Reply

