EPIC Slow Cooker Chicken & Rice Soup FAIL… So I Made Chili.

Alright, here’s the deal… This post is supposed to be for week 46 of my New 2 Me Cooking Challenge.

I was going to share a recipe for Slow Cooker Chicken & Rice Soup, but it was an EPIC FAIL. Like, inedible, we had to order take out it was so bad. The only thing I’m going to say about it is… don’t try and substitute white rice for long grain wild rice in a slow cooker recipe and walk away expecting it to cook the same. It won’t.  It will be a horrible mushy pile of… mush. *shudder*

So, instead of sharing a new 2 me recipe, I’m going to share my favorite slow cooker “chili” recipe. You’re (probably) going to read the recipe and tell me it’s not chili because there are beans. Or something. But this is as close to “real” chili as you’re ever going to get out of me.

I’m pretty sure I’ve made this recipe a billion times, or at least a couple times a year for the past 3 or 4 years… and I don’t think I’ve ever shared it! I couldn’t find it anywhere on the blog.

It’s a super easy recipe and I change the ingredients around depending on what kind of mood I’m in. Usually I use ground turkey and ground hot Italian sausage. Sometimes I go with beef, sometimes I cut up sausage links. Sometimes I add more hot sauce (or leave it out altogether), most of the time I only use 1 tablespoon of chili powder. The.mr likes SPICEY so I try and compromise on that. I also switch out the beans depending on my mood. I usually go with Navy Beans because they have less calories, but the.mr and I both like Kidney Beans so they often make an appearance in this chili.

Overall… this Slow Cooker Chili recipe is perfect for the cold days of Fall & Winter! It’s the perfect easy meal and would go great with some buttery cornbread!

-Holly

Look at the New 2 Me Cooking Challenge Recipe for this year or last year!

Leave a Reply

