Hot Cocoa Marshmallows!!

So… it’s been a while since I’ve posted anything new. It’s not because I haven’t made anything. It’s because we spent the entirety of Christmas week in Virginia visiting w/ the.mr’s family. Thankfully, it was a little less stressful than last year.

But at any rate… these marshmallows. Ohemgee. I adapted the Coffee Marshmallows from A Cozy Kitchen to make these awesooome Hot Cocoa Marshmallows. I’m totally in love with them!

I received mixed reactions from my testers. The guys who work with the.mr thought that flavoring marshmallows is unnecessary. I don’t agree. My testers in VA split 50/50. It seemed like I nailed the hot chocolate flavor… and everyone said the marshmallow texture was right on. But I think the majority of people are just ambivalent to hot cocoa. Crazy talk, riiiight!?

The recipe might seem a little daunting, but it’s fairly easy. I think if I can pull it off anybody can. The next time I make these I’m only going to make half of the Prep Mixture… I had sooooo much left over, even after rolling the marshmallows (after I cut them) to stop them from sticking together.

If you’re a little confused about the “gelatin”, I found it by the Jello. I used Knox brand.

I wouldn’t try and mix these with a handheld mixer… I don’t imagine your arms/ shoulders/ back (or the handheld mixer) would appreciate it. Whipping these up took quite a bit of effort from my Kitchen Aid stand mixer.

And my only other suggestion before you run to the kitchen to make these is to spray cooking spray (like Pam) onto the spatula when you’re spreading the mixture into the pan. If you don’t you’re in for a sticky-icky mess all over your hands, the spatula, the counter, probably the backsplash, and possibly the ceiling. Not that I’d know or anything.

At any rate… if you like hot cocoa and marshmallows these Hot Cocoa Marshmallows are for you. Just click on the link for the recipe!

Happy Making!
-Holly

PS. Serving Suggestion: make a hot cocoa w/ almond milk, add Peppermint Mocha Kahlua, top with these marshmallows, and then DRIIIIIINK IT ALL.

Leave a Reply

