Patriots Nation Cake!!

I was born & raised in Massachusetts. One of the very first things young Massholes (and New Englanders in general) learn is to rabidly love our sports teams. We can get a bit crazy especially when there’s a championship on the line.

Like this past Sunday when the Patriots played the Sea Chickens in Super Bowl XLIX. That’s kind of a big deal.

If I’m going to be totally honest… (and please forgive me fellow Massholes/ New Englanders) I’m not a football gal. I probably can’t name more than 3 players on the Patriots team.

BUT… I did know I *needed* to do something to celebrate my NE “heritage” and the football team that my people love.

My original plan was to make a confetti cake using red & blue sprinkles, with a buttercream transfer Patriots logo.

Sadly, I couldn’t find red & blue sprinkles anywhere! *sad face* So I changed the plan and made a 3 layer cake with red, white, and blue layers instead. I used the 15.25 ounce Pillsbury Moist Supreme White Cake boxed mix. I followed the directions for the egg white recipe, and then divided it into 3 even portions. I used Wilton No Taste Red & Wilton Royal Blue gel food color, then I poured each portion into 8 inch round pans lined w/ parchment paper and lightly greased. The cakes where baked for about 15 minutes and cooled completely before I frosted them.

I used my FAVORITE plain buttercream recipe from Cookies & Cups. It’s amazing. It’s simple and tasty, thick enough to cover imperfections, and thin enough to spread.

You can (probably) tell from the pictures that a NE logo buttercream transfer didn’t happen. Why not? Because when I was gathering ingredients I realized I had some leftover fondant and an idea was born! Instead of a buttercream transfer I decided to use that fondant for the logo (and lettering). I used the same food colors as I did for the cake. I printed a black & white version of the Patriots logo, cut it out and used it as a stencil. I recently bought a Wilton fondant knife and I used that to cut out the fondant. I shouldn’t have wasted the money and used a clean Exacto blade instead. Live & learn. I made the letters using cut-outs from Wilton. It seems like I use a lot of stuff from Wilton… and I do, but that’s because that’s what’s available at my local craft store (AKA Michael’s). I just felt like I needed to put that out there.

Remember when I said I couldn’t find red & blue sprinkles for the inside of this cake? Well, it turns out I had some homemade red, white, and blue sprinkles that I decided to put on top of the cake. It looked a little bit naked with just the logo on top. Know what I mean?

At any rate… I had a lot of fun making this cake. and even more fun when the Pats won the Super Bowl. I love seeing my friends and family so excited!

Happy Baking!
-Holly

Leave a Reply

