January Cookbook Challenge- Skinnytaste

I was really excited to start a new challenge this year. I wanted to do something different from in 2013 or 2014, so the Cookbook Challenge was born! Click HERE to learn about it!
Because this is the first time I tried this I’m still working out the kinks. So bear with me, I should have it all together (and organized) by December! *apologetic smile*

The Book
The SkinnyTaste Cookbook. Gina Homolka. Clarkson Potter, 2014.

The Recipes

  1. Cubano-Style Stuffed Pork Tenderloin (pg 205): I followed the directions for this recipe to a “T”… almost. I had a little trouble trying to figure out how to cut it for the prep. I don’t think it was the directions…I think it’s cuz I’m special. Pounding the meat to thin it is pretty fun. Just in case you were wondering. I used pickle chips instead of spears… but that’s because I wanted to use the leftovers for sandwiches! I also didn’t have any twine, so I had to use toothpicks to hold it all together. I never would’ve thought I wouldn’t be able to find cooking string in at the grocery store! The dry rub w/ this recipe is aaaahmaaaazing. I’ve used it a bunch already!
  2. Chicken Rollatini Stuffed w/ Zucchini & Mozzarella (pg 152): I didn’t change a thing! Pounding the chicken cutlets is awesomely fun… if you’ve never pounded meat into submission you don’t know what you’re missing. Oh gaaawd, that sounds horribly inappropriate. *winks*
  3. Quinoa-Stuffed Peppers (pg 242): This recipe was my first time using Quinoa. It’s… interesting. I did deviate from this recipe in a few places. I used green peppers (they’re cheaper at the grocery store). I used 1 cup of crushed pepper instead of ¾ of a cup, and I added it to the skillet w/ the spinach after the garlic. I didn’t bake these in the oven, instead I assembled them, and then cooked them in the skillet, covered, on medium heat until the peppers where done. I had to add the rest of the can of crushed peppers & some extra chicken broth to the skillet so it didn’t burn.
  4. Teriyaki- Glazed Grilled Pork Chops w/ Pineapple Salsa (pg 198): I didn’t change anything in this recipe… besides the fact that I didn’t grill them. There’s like feet of snow surrounding our grill, it IS winter after all. I cooked them in the skillet. I love my skillet. I used a can of pineapple in juice instead of fresh pineapple… for convenience and all that. I think it was a 15 oz can. I also used a yellow pepper (it was small and kind of green), not a jalapeño, in the pineapple salsa. Speaking of Pineapple Salsa, the.mr LOVED it.

The Good:

  • I had a hard time picking which recipes I wanted to try from this cookbook.
  • The pictures are BEAUTIFUL.
  • The recipes are pretty self-explanatory, and I found all the ingredients (except cooking string) in the “regular” aisles in the grocery store.

The Less Good:

  • The ingredient lists… it’s kind of a love/hate thing. They’re divided by which part of the recipe they go in. So when I used pineapple juice in the pork chops it was listed 2x. Once in the list under the pork chops, and again in the list under the teriyaki sauce. It’s great when I’m making the recipe, but it caused a little confusion when I was making my grocery list. It’s not a deal breaker by any means. And I honestly like it better than if it was one giant list of ingredients that kept listing “divided”. Does that sound crazy, cuz I don’t think I explained it very well.
  • I know the recipes are skinny… but the.mr and I finished everything, every time. No matter what the serving size was. I don’t think I could cook “skinny” for the.mr every day… yah I blame him. *wink*

Other Recipes 2 Try:

  1. Chicken Cordon Bleu Meatballs (pg 163)
  2. So-Addicted Chicken Enchiladas (pg 171)
  3. Tricolor Summer Penne (pg 239)
  4. Butternut Squash Lasagna Rolls (pg 248)

Overall:
LOVE IT.
Buy it!

See all of the 2015 Cookbook Challenge!

Happy Cooking!
-Holly

PS. I forgot to take pictures while I was making them, especially when I made the Stuffed Peppers & Teriyaki Chicken! Oops!

Leave a Reply

