February Cookbook Challenge- SL Heirloom Recipe Cookbook

The Book
Southern Living Heirloom Recipe Cookbook. Cobbs, Katherine, & Strickland, Ashley. Oxmoor House, 2011.
I picked out the SL Heirloom Recipe CB while I was browsing thru the cooking section at Books A Million.  I lived in Southern Virginia for 8ish year and I never learned to cook while I was there, so I thought this might be a nice tribute to the area I love. I might have been born and raised a Yankee, but Southern VA is the place I really feel at home.

The Recipes
I have to confess… I didn’t start writing this post ‘til the end of MARCH. So, it’s been a while since we actually ate these recipes. I’m sorry it’s a little vague.

  • Vegetable Cheddar Chowder (pg 199): Step 1 in this recipe says to drain the veggies after cooking them. I drained about ½ the liquid off, because I thought we needed the broth as a base. I won’t drain any of the broth next time. It’d be really easy to make this recipe vegetarian by substituting vegetable broth for the chicken broth. The.mr and I enjoyed this recipe, but we found that it didn’t reheat well. Everything got waaaay too mushy in the microwave.
  • Meatloaf (pgs 120 & 121): I originally set out to make the Turkey Meatloaf on page 121, but I couldn’t find turkey sausage in the grocery store! I just used regular pork sausage. I reduced the recipe by ½. Instead of cooking this in a “loaf” I cooked it in lightly greased LARGE muffin tins. I filled each spot w/ about ¾ cup of the mixture, and baked it for around 40 minutes. This recipe was greasy, I think it was because of the sausage. If I make this again, I’m going to try precooking the sausage.
  • King Ranch Chicken (pg 170): I reduced this recipe by ½ also. I also used all cheddar cheese, and substituted nacho cheese soup. Other than that I followed the directions! I wasn’t a fan of this one. I’m not sure why… but I just didn’t like it. The.mr really liked it, he said he’d even ask for it again. Go figure.
  • Sour Cream Crescent Rolls (pg 57): Of the 4 recipes I made for the challenge this month I loved these the best! Surprised, you shouldn’t be? I really love my carbs! I accidentally used ¾ cups (instead of ½ c) of butter when I made the dough. It was kind of sticky… Oops! It’s OK, they still worked out really well! Step 5 in the instructions said to let the dough rise for 45 minutes. I made 2 cookie sheets of rolls and let them rise in a warm oven (preheated to 200 degrees, then turned off). I let one sheet rise for the full 45 minutes, and the other I let rise for 30 minutes. The.mr and I like the ones I let rise for 30 minutes the best. They had the best texture, and kept their crescenty shape. I also made a rookie mistake by baking both cookie sheets at the same time, and forgetting to rate them on the racks! So some of them browned more than others.

The Good

  • Easy to follow recipes
  • (Mostly) easy to find ingredients

Other Thoughts

  • It’s neither good nor bad, but I’m kind of indifferent to the stories… I barely skimmed them.
  • I wish there were more pictures.
  • This *isn’t* a healthy cookbook. 😉 What I mean is, there are lots of delish fats & carbs!
  • The recipes are def family sized! I had A LOT of leftovers!

Other Recipes 2 Try

  • Orange Rolls
  • Chicken Kiev
  • Macaroni Au Gratin
  • Green Bean Casserole
  • Jalapeno Jelly
  • All the desserts!

Overall
I like this cookbook, and there are a lot of other recipes I can’t wait to try. The.mr liked everything we tried, but I was indifferent to the meatloaf and didn’t like the KRC.
I’m not sure it’s worth the money I spent, but if I saw it at a used bookstore I’d grab it!

See all the 2015 Cookbook Challenge Recipes!!

Happy Cooking!
-Holly

Leave a Reply

