Peanutty Chocolate Coconut Bars!!

When I was younger I used to hate coconut. Now…  I just don’t like it.  I tried it for the first time since I was in high school when I was making these bars.

I actually made these for the.mr to take to work. The guy that originally hired him (at this company, and the entire reason we moved to PA) left for another job this past week. L

I told him I’d make him  a special going away present, all he had to do was pick the flavors. He picked peanut butter, chocolate, and coconut.  I have to admit that I was stumped when the.mr came home and told me. What am I supposed to do with those? I don’t even *like* coconut.

I ended up surfing the interwebs until I came across a Martha Stewart recipe Chocolate Coconut Bars. With a little modification these bars turned into Peanutty Chocolate Coconut Bars! They were a big hit!

It’s a fairly simple recipe that doesn’t take a lot of time to put together.

I used chocolate graham crackers instead of regular ones, because I wanted to make sure there was lots of chocolate flavor. You could probably crush them by hand or use a rolling pin, but I really like the small crumbs I got using a food processor.

I used plain peanuts that were broken into halves, instead of the pecans in the original recipe.

I added the ½ cup of peanut butter chips to make sure there was some sweet peanut flavor.

When it came time for the condensed milk I had a little trouble. I couldn’t get it to spread, and there was a lot in the middle of the crust. I eventually used an offset spatula to spread it around. I think it was difficult because I used more “dry” ingredients then in the original recipe. Make sure to keep the condensed milk from the edges of the pan, it’ll burn.

I wasn’t sure how long to cook these for. I’m not really sure what toasted coconut is supposed to taste like, or how brown it’s supposed to get. I took it out of the oven when the coconut pieces sticking up where browned.

These coconut bars kept their shape really well… except the corners and some of the edges. If I make them again I’ll def trim the edges before I share.

The.mr said these Peanutty Chocolate Coconut Bars (click on the link for my recipe) where a hit! AND I found out I no longer despise coconut. Now, I merely dislike it. 😉

Happy Baking!
-Holly

Leave a Reply

