April Cookbook Challenge- 500 Paleo Recipes

This post is going to look A LOT different from my earlier Cookbook Challenge posts. I’m sorry.

When I was choosing a cookbook for April I knew I wanted to pick a healthy one. So I browsed thru the “healthy” cookbooks in the bookstore… I eventually narrowed down my choices to 500 Paleo Recipes and a vegetarian cookbook (which I can’t remember the name of). I asked the.mr which one he’d rather try, of course it was the one with all the meat!

I got home and was so excited to dig in to this cookbook and try my luck at Paleo cooking. I mean, how hard could it be? It’s just meat and vegetables… riiiight?!

That’s where I was wrong. Paleo coking isn’t for everyone.

It is for people who don’t care how much they spend at the grocery store. If I wanted to buy the suggested( pasture raised & grass fed) organic beef, I’d have to spend about $1 more PER OUNCE than I would on “regular” beef. If I wanted to buy (cage free etc) organic eggs, I’d have to spend over $2 more per dozen than I do on my usual brand. Stevia was the recommended sweetener (sugar isn’t Paleo)… it was $11 for a tiny bottle. Don’t even get me started on the fruits and veggies. Basically, going Paleo is cost prohibitive for a lot of people. Lucky for me, there’s only 2 of us eating, and it was only for a few meals/ recipes.

Personally, I think a fully Paleo diet would be too restrictive. I like (ok, LOVE) bread, fro yo, and all things sugary too much! So, this cookbook isn’t really for me. if you’re making the commitment, or are already eating Paleo this is probably a great cookbook to have.

Now, on to the actual recipes!

The Introduction and Foundational Recipes chapters where a great start, and very informative.

I made the Cajun Spiced Pecans on page 35. Then I made Cajun Spiced Mixed Nuts, but I used homemade Cajun Seasoning. Then I made South-Western Mixed Nuts with homemade seasoning. I used a combo of pecans, walnuts, and almonds. I’ve never used coconut oil before I tried this recipe. It was pretty good! after the nuts cooled all the way they don’t taste or feel greasy at all! Total win.

I also made Simple Sunflower Crackers (pg 77). It was a super easy recipe, I think it took me like 5 minutes to put together. I rolled the dough right on a cookie sheet, and used a pizza cutter to cut it into cracker sized pieces. The edged dig get much crispier than the middles, so if I ever make these again, I’m going to bake it in 2 pieces. The crackers tasted a little plain. They’re def going to need some kind of seasoning (besides salt).

The other thing I made was the Cauliflower “Rice”. The first time I made it I used the recipe for Pecan, Sun Dried Tomato, and Bacon Rice-a-Phony (pg 89). I doubled the recipe, so I could use the whole head of cauliflower. I also substituted regular Worcestershire sauce for a paleo specific one. The final thing I did differently was using homemade chicken stock instead of the beef broth concentrate. Honestly, Cauliflower “rice” doesn’t taste like rice. It’s just not the same. Overall it was still pretty good. I even tried another variation… Fried Cauliflower Rice. I liked it so much I think I might give it its own post! if you CAN’T have rice, Cauliflower “Rice” will probably be an acceptable substitute.

One more thought… Pork Rinds. Where can I find them in the grocery store!? I’m dying to use them as “breading” for fried chicken (pg 30), or as an ingredient in the pancakes on page 82!

That wraps up my Cookbook Challenge for April.

Happy Making!
-Holly

PS. Here’s a link to the book!

Leave a Reply

