May & June Cookbook Challenge

America’s Test Kitchen Healthy Family Cookbook
I cheated and used the same cookbook for May and June. The.mr and I had a busy couple of months so I didn’t do much cooking, never mind trying new recipes.

The Recipes

  • Toasted Corn Salsa (pg 46): I stuck to the recipe 100%. I had a heck of a time toasting my corn, I think I over crowded it in the pan. It tasted good, we ate all of it in 2 sittings. I don’t like cilantro, but the.mr does… so I might leave it out (or reduce the amount I use) next time.
  • Apricot Orange Chipotle Sauce (pg 239): Neither the.mr or I really liked this sauce. We both thought it was fine, but not good enough to make again. The orange chunks and the orange juice overpowered the other flavors. Except the cilantro… but we’ve already established how I feel about cilantro. 😉
  • Southwest Marinade (pg 349): I actually used this marinade as a sauce for a pork butt I cooked in the slow cooker. I used raspberry jam instead of apricot. It was too spicy for my tastes. The.mr liked it, tho. I think if I had used it as just a marinade it would’ve been OK, but the pork had A LOT of time sitting in all that spicy sauce.
  • Multigrain Pizza Dough (pg 381): I made this recipe in my stand mixer instead of the food processor. This obviously changes the directions a little, but I didn’t write anything down besides “Stand Mixer” so… sorry. If you’re only going to use one of these pizza doughs, put the other in the freezer. If you leave it in the fridge it will continue to grow. And grow. The.mr and I both really liked this dough. It made a great crust.
  • Whole Wheat Buttermilk Biscuits (pg 422): I really liked these! I thought the addition of cream cheese was kind of weird, but it worked out well in the end. Instead of cutting these out into round biscuits, I rolled/patted the dough into a rectangle and cut the biscuits in to squares. Mostly because I was too lazy to dig out a round cookie cutter, and partly because I didn’t want to overwork the dough. I baked these at 425 degrees F for 7 minutes, and 400 degrees for 12 and they were slightly over baked. I would’ve baked them at 450 but my oven smells like it’s burning something every time I turn it above 425. *shrugs shoulders* Make these biscuits, you won’t regret it.
  • Raspberry Bars (pg 443): Errr… I’m not sure what happened when I baked these, but mine DO NOT look at all like the photo in the book. I must have messed up somewhere and not realized it. The.mr liked them anyway. I didn’t really care for them. I’m going to try baking them again soon.

The Good

  • I love that this cookbook is a binder! It’s so much easier than trying to hold book pages down… I know that sounds silly but… love!
  • This book is filled with great “Test Kitchen Tips” on things from the best kitchen tools to how to poach something in the oven
  • I found all the ingredients I needed at my regular grocery store.
  • The writers have included variations on quite a few recipes.
  • Each section has a separate index for quick reference.

The Less Good

  • The page formatting was a little irksome. Some of the recipes only have a line or 2 at the bottom of one page, then go on to the next (or even the back). I’d the space was just left blank, or maybe had another “tip” instead.

Other Thoughts

  • The recipes are made with healthier ingredients, but most of them couldn’t be considered “diet” food.
  • I mentioned in the last post how busy the.mr and I were in May/June… so I didn’t try as many recipes as I wanted too. Obviously, I’ll be tackling some of the ones below. They may or may not be posted.

Other Recipes 2 Try

  • Carmelized Onion Dip (pg 41)
  • Any of the salad dressings
  • Chicken Tortilla Soup (pg 111)
  • Scalloped Potatoes (pg 143)
  • Chicken w/ Zucchini & Tomatoes (pg 254)
  • Any of the Marinades/ BBQ Sauces/Spice Rubs in the Grilling chapter
  • Whole wheat Dinner Rolls (pg 397)
  • Cinnamon Raisin Bread (pg 402)
  • Sweet Potato Biscuits (pg 424)
  • Classic White Sheet Cake (pg 452)

Overall
I like it! I’ve picked thru it for a few recipes here and there. IMO it’s worth the money I spent.

Happy Cooking/Baking/Making!
-Holly

PS don’t forget to check out the other cookbooks I’ve tried so far!

Leave a Reply

