July Cookbook Challenge: Feed Your Athlete

Here’s the link to see the Feed Your Athlete Cookbook on Amazon!

Keep reading to see what recipes I made, and the “review” for the July post of my Cookbook Challenge series.

The Recipes

  1. Bran Raisin Cookies (pg 68): I really liked these! I added an extra cup of Raisin Bran. I also used parchment paper instead of greasing the cookie sheets. These cookies spread a LOT, I think the dough needed to be chilled. Either that or my butter was too soft. At any rate I liked these so much that I adapted them into THESE Raisin Bran Oatmeal Cookies!
  2. Whole Wheat Oatmeal Pancakes (pg 86): The.mr and I both liked these pancakes. They’re waaaaaay better than box mix! I followed the directions, right until step 5. Instead of pouring out ¼ cup, I used a 2 inch cookie scoop to get the batter onto the hot skillet. I also left out the nutmeg, but that’s because I forgot it!
  3. Cranberry Limeade (pg 104): this was just OK. I wasn’t super impressed. It was REALLY tart. It’s supposed to be a pre-competition drink, but I don’t think I’d drink it before a long run or anything… mostly because I was actually thirstier after I finished drinking it! Hmph.
  4. Snack Mix Cereal Bars (pg 119): the.mr and I liked these so much I made them 2x. Actually, I made them 2x because I forgot the chocolate the first time! Tragedy! The second time I made them I played around with the recipe a little bit, so I’ll probably share that (eventually). No matter what, I suggest you make these. They kind of reminded me of Rice Krispie Treats, only better. What’s not to love about peanut butter, marshmallows, Chex, salty pretzels, and a liberal amount of chocolate sprinkled in?
  5. Quick Tortellini Salad (pg 136): This recipe was devoured! I made it twice in one week. The first time I used tortellini filled with chicken, and the 2nd time I used the cheese filled kind. The.mr liked the chicken the best, I preferred the cheese filled ones! It tasted as good cold as it did when the pasta was fresh out of the pot.
  6. Hamburger Casserole (pg 143): this recipe was just like Hamburger Helper!! It was awesome! I didn’t change a single thing! Wait, I used ground turkey instead of hamburger. So I guess I did change something. 😉 Don’t let the photos dissuade you from making this recipe… it’s not very photogenic, but it sure is yummy.
  7. Raspberry Lemonade (pg 151): This drink was soo good! It was kind of important to use the sweetest raspberries you can find or it’ll be too sour.

 

The Good

  • The first part of this cookbook is awesome. It’s broken down into sections like Nutrition Basics, and advice on how to feed GF or vegan athletes. Basically… I learned A TON from reading this part.
  • The recipes are broken down into Training, Competition, and Recovery sections, and then divided again by “type” (ex. portables, drinks, entrees). I love it!
  • Every recipe I tried was easy to read and had easy to find ingredients.
  • There are 5 icons that might appear next to each recipe indicating Low Fat, High Protein, High Carb, High Fiber, or Low Fiber.
  • Nothing felt or tasted like it was “healthy” and I liked it. I hate when I’m trying to be healthy and the food isn’t satisfying!

 

The Less Good

  • I liked (almost) EVERYTHING about this cookbook!
  • The portion sizes felt a little small… but that might be because the.mr and I really like to eat. 😉
  • I consider myself a “runner”, but I don’t fit the endurance category. I’m also not strength training… So it might’ve been cool to see it add blurbs or specific info for runners or other sports.

 

Other Recipes 2 Try

  • Blackberry Cooler (pg 54)
  • Sweet & Salty Peanut Bars (pg 62)
  • Greek Pasta Salad (pg 78)
  • Three Cheese & Spinach Stuffed Shells (pg 92)
  • Quickie Breakfast Burrito (124)
  • Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars (pg 166)
  • Super Simple Couscous Salad (pg 177)
  • Zucchini Pizza Casserole (pg 186)

Overall
Worth it! Esp if you’re new to healthy eating, want to improve your eating habits, or are attempting to fuel better for your workouts!

 

Happy Making!
-Holly

Leave a Reply

