Cheesy Veggie Bake- N2MCC48

cheesy veggies

I adapted this Veggie Bake from A Southern Fairytale for week 48 of my New 2 Me Cooking Challenge.

Overall there isn’t much to say. It tastes like baked veggies, which is a good thing.

The bad thing is… it was a little wet. After it finished baking there was a lot of moisture in the bottom of the baking dish. It made the veggies mushy when I tried to reheat it. 

I did a little research online, and came to 2 conclusions.
1) The zucchini/ squash has a high moisture content, so next time I make this I’m going to reduce the zucchini/ squash and add green beans or another veggie.
2) low fat sour cream doesn’t work well in recipes like this… something about the whey separating from the cream worse than with regular sour cream. I’m still a little unsure on this, but I’ll use regular next time to test this theory.

The way I made my version of Cheesy Veggie Bake got thumbs halfway up from the.mr and I. it wasn’t awesome, but with a couple of changes I think it will be.

Happy Making!
-Holly

Don’t forget to check out the other recipes from 2014, or 2013!

Leave a comment